Representative Ultrino Joins Economic Empowerment Trust Fund Board

Board promotes wage equality, financial literacy, and smart spending programs

BOSTON –State Representative Steve Ultrino (D-Malden) was sworn in last week as an inaugural member of the Commonwealth’s Economic Empowerment Trust Fund Board, which is responsible for supporting and promoting wage equality, establishing financial literacy programs, creating college savings accounts, and establishing college and career readiness programs in the fields of STEM.          

“The Commonwealth’s Economic Empowerment Trust Fund Board informs and educates Massachusetts residents about issues that help keep families economically stable and provide avenues for growth,” said House Speaker Robert A. DeLeo (D-Winthrop). “In his short tenure in the House, Representative Ultrino has proven himself to be a hardworking and passionate public servant. I look forward to seeing the good work he’ll do on the board.”

“Wage equality and financial literacy are vital issues for working-class families living paycheck to paycheck, for veterans looking to settle down after time overseas, and for students preparing to make big financial decisions that could last a lifetime,” said Representative Ultrino. “I am excited to join my fellow board members in this new endeavor.”

Representative Ultrino’s extensive career in education includes serving as a teacher at Malden Catholic High School and as Education Director for the Middlesex County Sheriff’s Department, where he supported financial literacy efforts.

The Economic Empowerment Trust Fund was created earlier this year when the Legislature merged the Financial Literacy Trust Fund and the Commonwealth Covenant Fund. The new Trust Fund has an expanded mission to help empower residents across the state.

Other members of the Financial Literacy Trust Fund Board include the Attorney General, the Secretary of Education, the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development, the Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education, and appointees of the Treasurer’s office. The Board is chaired by Treasurer Deborah Goldberg, and held its first meeting on September 21, 2015.

#          #          #